Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

The Factory

Zaha Hadid Architects and Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA), led by Rem Koolhaas, were shortlisted for “The Factory” competition, Manchester’s new top cultural venue. Nine finalists were chosen out of a total of 48 applications and the list includes Mecanoo, Diller Scofidio + Renfro (NYC’s Highline architects), Grimshaw Architects and local office Simpson Haugh and Partners.

Granada TV Headquarters in Manchester

Granada TV Headquarters in Manchester

The flexible 5,000-capacity theater and arts venue, located on the site of the former Granada Studios, is set to be of a more international interest as Manchester’s other art venues. With a design signed by one of he world’s leading architecture offices, organizers hope the major cultural center will put Manchester on the international art scene, along with London, New York, or Berlin.

Rosa Batte, executive member for culture and leisure of Manchester City Council (MCC), organizer of the competition, stated: “The level of international interest reflects the city’s emerging status as an internationally-renowned city of culture. This is a landmark development that will place Manchester in the highest tier of arts worldwide.”

The name of the venue – The Factory – comes from Factory Records, which debudet in Manchester in 1978 and is tied to influential names of the music scene, such as Joy Division, New Order or Happy Mondays.

Former Granada TV complex will house "The Factory"

Former Granada TV complex will house “The Factory”

The completion of the project is planned for 2019, at a budget of £110 million. The winner of the £9.5 million design contract will be announced in mid-November and will be required to submit a planning application by May, 2016. The construction is planned to start in January 2017, with a scheduled opening date by summer 2019.

The finalist architecture office will work with MCC and llied London – council’s development partner for the television center regeneration. The winner will lead the design team, featuring other teams of specialized consultants and engineers. See the complete shortlists below:

Architectural Services
Rafael Viñoly Architects
Diller Scofidio + Renfro
Bennetts Associates
Office for Metropolitan Architecture (O.M.A.) Stedebouw B.V.
Zaha Hadid Limited
Simpson Haugh and Partners LLP
Grimshaw Architects LLP
Mecanoo International b.v.
Haworth Tompkins Limited
Theatre Consultants
Fisher Dachs Associates Inc
Charcoalblue LLP
Ove Arup & Partners Ltd
Theatre Projects Consultants Limited
Theatreplan LLP
Structural and Civil Engineers
Expedition Engineering Ltd
Ove Arup & Partners Ltd
Buro Happold Limited
Mott MacDonald Limited
Building Services Engineers
Ove Arup & Partners Ltd
Buro Happold Limited
WSP UK Ltd (Trading as WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff)
Max Fordham LLP
Mott MacDonald Limited
Cost Consultant
Turner & Townsend Cost Management Ltd
Gardiner & Theobald LLP
Gleeds Cost Management Limited
EC Harris LLP
Rider Levett Bucknall (UK) Ltd
Fire Engineers
Ove Arup & Partners Ltd
WSP UK Ltd (Trading as WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff)
Buro Happold Limited
Hoare Lea and Partners
AECOM Limited
Acoustic Engineers
Ove Arup & Partners Ltd
Building Design Partnership Limited
Buro Happold Limited
Kahle Acoustics sprl
Threshold Acoustics LLC

By: Ana Cosma

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.

Send this to a friend

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.. It's Free !
Email confirmation is required. Please check your Junk E-mail folder just in case !